top of page

GDPR glossary

The GDPR is a text that can seem complex when you are not initiated in legal language. We have therefore undertaken a series of blog articles designed to explain the GDPR and its principles to you so that you too can make the text your own.

 

You will find here all the definitions of the various specific terms that are used in these somewhat technical articles. This page will be enriched as and when we publish articles on the various chapters of the GDPR.

To access the blog and the articles in question, please click on the button below.

Personal data

Any information relating to a natural person who can be identified, directly or indirectly.

The people concerned

Persons whose personal data are affected by a data processing operation. 

Data processing

Any operation or set of operations which may or may not be performed upon personal data or sets of personal data by automated means. The collection, recording, organisation, structuring, storage, adaptation or alteration, retrieval, consultation, use, disclosure by transmission, dissemination or otherwise making available, alignment or combination, restriction, erasure or destruction of data are data processing operations. CNIL definition.

Profilage

Any form of automated processing of personal data which consists in using such data to evaluate certain personal aspects relating to a natural person, in particular to analyse or predict elements concerning the work performance, economic situation, health, personal preferences, interests, reliability, behaviour, location or movements of that natural person. CNIL definition.

Material scope

Defines precisely which data are protected by the GDPR and which data processing operations are governed by the GDPR.

Territorial scope

Defines precisely the territory (and the population attached to it) concerned by the GDPR.

Data controller / processor

An organisation may be responsible for all the data processing carried out in the course of its business, but it may also delegate some or all of it. When an organisation delegates some data processing to a processor, it still remains a controller.

bottom of page

top of page

Glossaire RGPD

Le RGPD est un texte qui peut paraître complexe lorsqu'on n'est pas initié au language juridique. Nous avons donc entrepris une série d'articles de blog destinés à vulgariser le RGPD et ses principes afin que vous puissiez vous également vous approprier ce texte.

Vous trouverez ici toutes les définitions des divers termes spécifiques qui sont utilisés dans ces articles un peu techniques. Cette page sera enrichie au fur et à mesure de la publication de nos articles sur les divers chapitres du RGPD.

Pour accéder au blog et aux articles en question, veuillez cliquer sur le bouton ci-dessous.

Données à caractère personnel

Toute information relative à une personne physique susceptible d'être identifiée, directement ou indirectement.

Les personnes concernées

Personnes dont les données personnelles sont concernées par un traitement de données. 

Traitement de données

Toute opération ou tout ensemble d'opérations effectuées ou non à l'aide de procédés automatisés et appliquées à des données ou des ensembles de données à caractère personnel. La collecte, l'enregistrement, l'organisation, la structuration, la conservation, l'adaptation ou la modification, l'extraction, la consultation, l'utilisation, la communication par transmission, la diffusion ou toute autre forme de mise à disposition, le rapprochement ou l'interconnexion, la limitation, l'effacement ou la destruction des données sont des traitements de données. Définition de la CNIL.

Profilage

Toute forme de traitement automatisé de données à caractère personnel consistant à utiliser ces dans le but d'évaluer certains aspects personnels relatifs à une personne physique, notamment pour analyser ou prédire des éléments concernant le rendement au travail, la situation économique, la santé, les préférences personnelles, les intérêts, la fiabilité, le comportement, la localisation ou les déplacements de cette personne physique. Définition de la CNIL.

bottom of page