top of page
certification soc 2 type II

SOC 2 TYPE II CERTIFICATION

What is SOC 2 certification?

Information security is a critical issue for all businesses and organisations, including those that outsource critical business operations to third party providers (e.g. SaaS providers, cloud providers). And indeed, poor data management (especially by application and network security providers) can leave businesses vulnerable to attacks such as data theft, extortion and malware installation.

 

Thus, SOC 2 is an auditing process that aims to ensure that your service providers are managing your data securely to protect your organisation's interests and your customers' privacy. For companies concerned about the security of their data, SOC 2 compliance is a minimum requirement when considering a SaaS provider.

 

SOC 2 certification is awarded following an external audit. This audit assesses a vendor's compliance with one or more of the cybersecurity pillars, detailed below. 

 

  • Security: security and protection of system resources from unauthorised access, using IT security tools such as access control tools, network and web application firewalls, two-factor authentication or intrusion detection.

  • Availability: refers to the accessibility of the system and/or data, through monitoring network performance and availability, and handling security incidents.

  • Integrity: this principle of processing integrity is concerned with whether or not a system is achieving its purpose (i.e. providing the right data at the right price at the right time). Therefore, data processing must be complete, valid, accurate, timely and authorised.

  • Confidentiality: data is considered "confidential" if access and disclosure is limited to a set of previously authorised persons. Encryption tools, firewalls and strict access controls are essential to the confidentiality of a company's data.

 

CyberSecura can assist you with your SOC certification project. Please note that the external certification audit cannot be performed by CyberSecura.

What is the difference between SOC 2 type I and II?

The objective of these two certifications is essentially the same: to demonstrate that the appropriate and relevant technical requirements for the security of the certified organisation have been properly implemented. SOC 2 type I certification only requires the effective implementation of these technical requirements. On the other hand, SOC 2 type II certification is a little more exhaustive, since it requires an observation phase of 3 months after the implementation of these requirements. This final observation phase must be carried out by an auditor external to the organisation and the certification project. If necessary, we work with an experienced partner auditor.

Why get SOC 2 type II certification?

  • To reduce the risk of damage to the company's reputation, the risk of legal penalties, the risk of loss of commercial revenue due to the loss of sensitive information.

  • To reassure your customers, employees, suppliers and other interested parties about the security of their data.

  • To respond to invitations to tender for which ISO/IEC 27001 certification is required.

  • Demonstrate to the general public that your organisation takes information security issues very seriously.

  • To improve the information assets of your organisation and its customers year on year, thanks to the continuous improvement aspects of the standard.

The SOC 2 type II certification process

  • A gap or blank audit, to take stock of your current situation, the assets already in place, the gap with the standard, the organisation's resources and to achieve your objectives.
    Draft your security policies and procedures.
    Implementation of technical security requirements.

  • Managing your certification project: drawing up micro and macro plans, estimating costs and the time required.
    Carrying out technical audits (application and infrastructure audits).

Workload

To ensure that the certification project progresses satisfactorily, between 40 and 70 days of services are required. This volume of work is given as an indication and may vary depending on the size of the organisation and the resources dedicated to the certification project.

Saghar Estehghari, consultante experte en cybersécurité.JPG

All our services to help you obtain a SOC or ISO 27001 security certification are carried out by Saghar Estehghari, co-founder, CTO and expert consultant in cybersecurity, certified ISO/IEC27001 Lead Implementer.

WHAT HE SAYS

photo interviewé-Guillaume Bouchard.jpeg

Guillaume Bouchard, CEO Checkstep

"The CyberSecura teams were very professional and responsive."

THE CLIENT USECASE

Would you like to find out more about our SOC 2 Type II certification support service? Download our customer case study for more information!

If you download the usecase on this page, you will access French content. If you want to read this usecase inn English, please click here!

Capture d’écran 2024-04-24 à 15.12.09.png
Capture d’écran 2024-04-24 à 15.12.03.png
Capture d’écran 2024-04-24 à 15.11.57.png
Capture d’écran 2024-04-24 à 15.11.49.png
bottom of page

top of page
certification soc 2 type II

CERTIFICATION
SOC 2 TYPE II

Qu'est-ce que la certification SOC 2 ?

La sécurité de l'information est un enjeu capital pour toutes les entreprises et organisations, y compris celles qui confient des opérations commerciales essentielles à des fournisseurs tiers (e.g. fournisseurs de solutions SaaS, fournisseurs de solutions de cloud computing). Et en effet, une mauvaise gestion des données (en particulier par les fournisseurs de sécurité des applications et des réseaux) peut rendre les entreprises vulnérables face à des attaques telles que le vol de données, l'extorsion et l'installation de logiciels malveillants.

 

Ainsi, SOC 2 est une procédure d'audit qui vise à s'assurer que vos prestataires de services gèrent vos données en toute sécurité afin de protéger les intérêts de votre organisation et la vie privée de vos clients. Pour les entreprises soucieuses de la sécurité de leurs données, la conformité SOC 2 est une exigence minimale lorsqu'elles envisagent de choisir un fournisseur de solutions SaaS.

La certification SOC 2 est délivrée suite à un audit externe. Cet audit évalue le degré de conformité d'un fournisseur à un ou plusieurs des piliers de la cybersécurité, détaillés ci-dessous. 

  • La sécurité : sécurité et protection des ressources du système contre les accès non-autorisés, grâce à des outils de sécurité informatique tels que des outils de contrôles d'accès, des pare-feu de réseau et d'application web, d'authentification à double facteur ou de détection des intrusions.

  • La disponibilité : fait référence à l'accessibilité du système et/ou des données grâce à la surveillance des performances et de la disponibilité du réseau et le traitement des incidents de sécurité.

  • L'intégrité : ce principe d'intégrité du traitement vise à déterminer si un système atteint ou non son objectif (c'est-à-dire s'il fournit les bonnes données au bon prix et au bon moment). Par conséquent, le traitement des données doit être complet, valide, précis, opportun et autorisé.

  • La confidentialité : les données sont considérées comme "confidentielles" si leur accès et leur divulgation sont limités à un ensemble de personnes préalablement autorisées. Les outils de cryptage, de pare-feu et de contrôles rigoureux des accès sont des éléments indispensables à la confidentialité des données d'une entreprise.

CyberSecura vous accompagne dans votre projet de certification SOC. Attention, l'audit externe de certification ne peut pas être réalisé par CyberSecura.

Quelle différence entre SOC 2 types I et II ?

L'objectif de ces deux certifications est sensiblement le même : démontrer la bonne mise en place des exigences techniques appropriées et pertinentes pour la sécurité de l'organisation certifiée. La certification SOC 2 type I ne requiert que la mise en œuvre effective de ces exigences techniques. En revanche, la certification SOC 2 type II est un peu plus exhaustive puisqu'elle exige une phase d'observation de 3 mois après la mise en œuvre de ces exigences. Cette dernière phase d'observation doit être réalisée par un auditeur externe à l'organisation et au projet de certification. Au besoin, nous travaillons avec un auditeur partenaire expérimenté.

Pourquoi être certifié SOC 2 type II ?

  • Afin de réduire le risque d'atteinte à la réputation de l'entreprise, le risque de pénalités juridiques, le risque de pertes de recettes commerciales dues à la pertes d'informations sensibles.​

  • Afin de rassurer vos clients, employés, fournisseurs et autres parties intéressées quant à la sécurité de leurs données.

  • Afin de répondre aux appels d'offres pour lesquels la certification ISO/IEC 27001 est exigée.

  • De démontrer auprès du grand public que votre organisation prend très au sérieux les enjeux de sécurité de l'information.

  • D'améliorer d'années en années les actifs informationnels de l'organisation et de ses clients grâce aux aspects d'amélioration continue de la norme.

Le déroulement d'une prestation de certification SOC 2 type II

  • Un audit d'écart ou un audit blanc, afin de faire le point sur votre situation actuelle, les actifs déjà en place, l'écart avec la norme, les ressources de l'organisation et afin d'atteindre vos objectifs.
    La rédaction de vos politiques et procédures de sécurité.
    La mise en place des exigences techniques de sécurité.

  • La gestion de votre projet de certification : rédaction de plans micro et macro, estimation des coûts et du temps de travail nécessaire.
    La réalisation d'audits techniques (audits applicatif, d'infrastructure).

Volume de travail

Pour assurer un avancement satisfaisant du projet de certification, entre 40 et 70 jours de prestation sont nécessaires. Ce volume de travail est mentionné à titre indicatif et peut varier en fonction de la taille de l'organisation et des ressources dédiées au projet de certification.

Saghar Estehghari, consultante experte en cybersécurité.JPG

Toutes nos prestations d'accompagnement à l'obtention d'une certification de sécurité SOC ou ISO 27001 sont accompagnées et supervisées par Saghar Estehghari, co-fondatrice, CTO et consultante experte en cybersécurité.

ILS TÉMOIGNENT

photo interviewé-Guillaume Bouchard.jpeg

Guillaume Bouchard, CEO Checkstep

"Les équipes de CyberSecura ont été très professionnelles et réactives."

bottom of page